Arup Ghosh wins prestigious title ahead of VIP Gala Awards Ceremony

The Sony World Photography Awards has announced the amateur winners of the inaugural 2008 awards.

Arup Ghosh from India scooped the title of overall winner along with eight individual category winners spanning from abstract to sport, fashion to nature.

The winners were chosen from 25,934 submissions and were judged on a point system by a panel consisting of Honorary Board Members of the World Photographic Academy, including Nan Goldin, Tom Stodart and Rankin amongst others.

Images from the competition will be displayed at the Sony Legacy Exhibition at the Palais des Festivals in Cannes from 21st to 25th April, with a selection of 100 images to be made by Saatchi Online and displayed on the Saatchi Online Gallery Wall in Cannes during the Awards.

For further information on the awards, visit