Grand prize winner announced alongside shortlist from academy colleges

Winners from Nikon?s Discovery Awards, a competition aimed at recognising emerging photographic talent at academy colleges throughout the land, have been announced.

The prize fun totalled an impressive £50,000, with the overall winner, Michal Honkys of Thames Valley University, taking home a £5,000 cash prize, £1,800 of Nikon equipments and national exposure of his work.

Michal?s University also received a Nikon voucher to the value of £6,000 as part of Nikon?s ongoing support for colleges and tutors at the academies.

Chris Hoare, Nikon?s professional business manager, said: ?The first Discovery Awards competition has been a great success. The winners were all extremely deserving and will no doubt go on to be the industry?s finest?.

Details of the winners can be found below, and images are available in the gallery at

Grand Prize Winner

Thames Valley University

Michal Honkys

Judges? Awards

Thames Valley University

Ignasi Cunill

Edinburgh College of Art

Rebekka Unrau

Shortlist winners from each of the twenty academy colleges and universities

The Arts Institute Bournemouth

Matt Burgess

Blackpool and the Fylde

Lorraine Setchell

Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology

Thomas Woods

Edinburgh College of Art

Rebekka Unrau

Kingston University

Nick O?Brien

Manchester Metropolitan University

Emma Daffin

Newcastle College of Art & Design

Adrian Lourie

Nottingham Trent University

Steven Poxson

Plymouth College of Art & Design

Richard Hicks

Sheffield College

Kate Burnett

South East Essex College of Arts and Technology, Southend

James Porter

Thames Valley University

Michal Honkys

University of the Arts (LCC)

Matthew Hughes

University of the Arts (LCF)

Marcus Ross

University of Brighton

Ahmet Unver

University for the Creative Arts (Rochester)

Harri Heinonen

University College Falmouth (Art & Design)

Natalie Tkachuk

University of Gloucestershire

Clare Dawson

University of Wales, Newport

Kate Astbury

University of Westminster

Jan Stradtmann