Hybrid View

Default Recommendation for low-budget, high quality 1" close up P&S or DSLR

Hi there,

I'm looking to buy a camera in order to take really close up photos of nail art, mostly from about 1 inch away. I'm looking for a camera that can capture very fine detail with high colour accuracy.

My budget is under 300 with anything above 200 being a stretch. I'm not sure what type of camera would be best to go for as I'm a complete newbie, or whether for example it would be best to go for a cheaper DSLR and get a macro lens for it.

I'm not sure if what I'm asking for is possible on such a small budget, but I'd be interested to just receive some input either way on what my best course of action could be . I'm also open to buying other products to help my pictures look sharper, and similarly any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help,
    Mark

A quality compact travel zoom like the 130 TZ35 will shoot macro. Get a mini tripod to mount it on and use the two second timer.
    You will not be able to tell the difference between images from this and a camera costing five times as much.

Read a few reviews first though and have a look at Graham Houghton's videos on using a compact for macro.

1" distance might be a problem, I'm not sure about that. You could easily crop one taken at three inches if necessary.
    Edit. Just checked and its minimum focusing distance is 3cms. I suspect that you would get a sharper overall picture of a curved subject like a fingernail from about 5cms. As previously mentioned, it would only take an instant to crop to your desired size.
    Last edited by Huw Williams; 26-04-14 at 08:21 AM.

Images

Take a look at the fuji xf1. It retails around 130 it gives great close ups. This link is a close up using the xf1

http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/gal...imageuser=2689

Quote Originally Posted by graham_c View Post