Hybrid View

Default Choosing between Fujifilm X20 and Lumix TX-60.

A complete beginner here. Looking for a decent camera to take up photography with.
    Both of these have been recommended to me, and I'm looking to decide between the two! I understand the Fujifilm X20 has a better sensor than the TX-60, but has come out worse in some resolution tests...? Both seem very decent for what I need, but just wondered if someone here might have a more professional opinion.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by bananabandana View Post
    A complete beginner here. Looking for a decent camera to take up photography with.
    Both of these have been recommended to me, and I'm looking to decide between the two! I understand the Fujifilm X20 has a better sensor than the TX-60, but has come out worse in some resolution tests...? Both seem very decent for what I need, but just wondered if someone here might have a more professional opinion.

Thanks!
    You might mean the TZ60 which has only become available in the last few weeks. It is a competent, very well specified travel-zoom with about 30x zoom.

The X20 is an advanced compact with 5x zoom. It is more of an enthusiasts camera that is very satisfying to own, to hold and to use.

If you do not need the 30x zoom and intend to take up photography as a serious hobby, or take delight in owning nice stylish things, then the X20 is for you.
    If you do need the zoom and want a more compact camera that fits easier into a pocket, the Lumix might suit you better.

Both have got viewfinders but the X20's is a very good optical unit with information overlay, but it does have parallax issues for nearby subjects. This is not a deal breaker though.
    The Lumix has a low quality EVF by all accounts, which is better than nothing in sunny weather. Personally I would look for the TZ40 or the bargain TZ35 to save a bit of money in this choice of Lumix cameras but I have actually put my money where my mouth is and have an X20