Hybrid View

Default Best camera for action shots of Motorbikes?

Can anyone suggest a camera that can take pictures of motorbikes moving at speed - that is not going to cost me over a 1000? I want it as a present for my other half. He is technically minded and has various cameras but I know none of them are able to take the photos he would like to take of motorbikes. I am not technically minded and would appreciate a list of models to look at! I have been going round in circles looking at the various advice offered on the internet. Your advice would be very welcome.

Hi and welcome. Most cameras can take pics of moving vehicles. It's just knowing how - see Panning http://digital-photography-school.co...oving-subjects

1. Tell us what your budget is?

2. And if you're printing the images (if so what size) or just for web use and small 6"x4" prints?

Cheers!

Thank you Chris for your reply.
    In answer to your questions:
    I can spend up to 500 I realise this isn't a big budget having seen the price of some of the cameras I looked at previously.
    I think it is unlikely that he will print the images and more likely to keep them on his computer and other gadgets. If he is pleased with any I am sure we will all be given them as small prints!
    Thank you for the link - I will have a look tomorrow and ensure he also sees it. I haven't told him yet I am thinking of getting a camera for him as I wanted it to be a surprise if I could possibly get one.
    Thank you

Well 500 is a good price so we should be able to sort something out for you.

However, would hate to recommend something he already has. So can you tell us anything about them? For example. Have they got a fixed lens? Or has he got separate lenses. If you can get some model names and numbers that would help.

Images

Yes to second what Chris has said it may be a case of some photo technique thats required

Hello