Thread: Extras to Buy

Default Extras to Buy

Hi There,

I've just purchased a SLT-A37 and I wanted to ask, what extras must I buy? I'm very new to all this. I know there are many things I'd like to buy, but I'm talking about things like filers, things to clean it with etc. I'm not really sure? I just need advice of things I need to buy, before extras I'd like to buy.

Many thanks,

Bobby

It really depends on the type of photography you do. If you're interested in landscapes, nature, architecture etc the single most important accessory you can buy is a tripod. A tripod will improve your image sharpness and enable you to achieve the small apertures that provide front-to-back- depth of field. For architecture keeping things level is imperative. Tripods hold the camera still when you're up close and personal with flowers and insects, and your depth of field is so shallow that moving the camera an inch or two can make the difference between being in focus and not. There are hundreds available but avoid the cheap plasticky ones, they won't last long. You can get a pretty good tripod for about 50 (here's an example: http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-v...ripod/p1521356) but don't spend much less.
    Other kids of photography demand different accessories. I'd say a folding reflector would be good for portraits, for example. (also useful for nature)
    Last edited by Nigel Atherton; 26-03-13 at 12:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Nigel Atherton View Post