Hybrid View

Default compact for mountain biking

Hi folks. As you can see I'm a newbie to the site. After years of using a simple Olympus for taking photo's when I go out Mountain biking it gave up the ghost. It was also the families compact and my wee girl now 10 loved the video feature. Now I have a dilema, I'm looking for a replacement you see. A compact that is fast enough to capture a fast moving subject without shutter lag, with a good zoom, and video feature. Ideally I'd be looking at around 150. Hope you don't think it cheeky joining and posting for buying advice but I do have an alterior motive in trying to get my wife into the hobby. (need to keep her busy so that I can get out on the bike more often ) we have a conon 450d but that's obviously a bit bulky to take biking and the number of times I fall of it wouldn't last long. Thanks in advance
    Greig

Hi

Have a look at the Panasonic TZ20 http://www.photographyblog.com/revie...c_tz20_review/. It has been reduced to under half price at 149.99 which is a real bargain as it started out at around 350! http://www.jessops.com/online.store/...0675/show.html
    A compact that is fast enough to capture a fast moving subject without shutter lag
    No camera has nil shutter lag. You need to learn Panning http://digital-photography-school.co...oving-subjects which gives the subject a sense of movement while the main subject stays sharp. Or Pre-Focushttp://digital-photography-school.co...at-shutter-lag that helps with focussing which is the main cause of shutter lag.

I shoot with the Panasonic TZ7 and TZ10 http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk...m+range+images for some test zoom shots.

Cheers!

Last edited by Chris Cool; 24-08-12 at 03:28 PM.

Thanks Chris. There's a bewildering number of compacts out there, having looked at one or two reviews it looks a good bet, and the price fits in well too and thanks for the links.
    Cheers