Hybrid View

Default Compact or bridge for 200 or under?

Hi everyone,

First post here and as usual, looking for some advice. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to cameras and photography but I have an interest which I'm looking to expand upon.

Basically I have a little Sony Cybershot S950 at the moment which has served me well enough but I'm looking for something with a little more as a next step. I don't really want to get into full blown DSLRs just yet, too expensive and I wouldn't know where to start with one. Oh and I mostly take pictures of people, buldings, airshows, motorsport, etc.

So, I've been looking at a few compacts and bridge cameras for 150-200(ish) and there a lot of choices out there! The 2 I've really been looking at are the Fuji HS20-EXR and the Olympus SZ-30MR, I like the looks of both, they both sound good on paper, the image quality seems a little better on the Fuji (as does the manual zoom/focus and more settings) but I do like some of the features, the more compact nature and the cheaper price of the Olympus. How would they compare in real life?
    Obviously there are many other factors to think about but I'm very interested to hear any advice, other recommendations or from anyone who has any hands on experience with either of these cameras.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to seeing a reply or two soon
    Nic