Default Canon 1100D vs 600D - plea for responses :)

It's me again! I hope more people will respond this time please as purchase is imminent and I don't want to make the wrong choice as I am going over my original budget

So... I went into Jessops and explained everything I wanted to do and was told I needed an SLR - a compact/bridge wouldn't cut it. For my level (complete novice) the 1100D was recommended. I have compared the spec of both cameras on the Canon website but it didn't really assist my decision. When I spoke to the assistant (very helpful and knowledgeable) he said there wasn't much in it and for what I wanted the camera for, I should go for the 1100D - that it would be a vast difference on my current set up - and more money should be spent on good lenses. The 600D caught my eye due to the swivel LCD screen.

These are the key things I want from my camera:

Wide angle (essential)
    Good quality/colour images in low light (essential)
    Background blurring capability (essential)
    Rotating LCD (desirable)

My interests in the main are portraits, landscape, architecture, art and people. I love macro but this will have to wait as I have seen the cost of the lenses!

When I asked about how to get the background blurring, I was advised on a 50mm 1.8 lens to start off with. (That the 1.4 would be better but it is just too expensive right now at well over 300). However, on reading Canon's SLR guide that has been given as a "clicky" on many posts on this site, they are saying you need a telephoto lens to get that effect. So now I am totally confused Could someone please clear this up for me as it makes a difference to what lenses I get in my first bundle.

Also, I have been told that the IS version of lenses are of no real value and not worth paying the extra money for. That for the kind of shots I'd like to take when camera shake might be a problem (low light) I would be better off investing in a tripod. Do you agree/disagree with this statement?