Thread: EOS 7D or 60D

Default EOS 7D or 60D

Hello forum

I am looking to get into the wedding photography field but also take portraits during the quiet seasons. I haven’t got a studio so this will be on a ‘visit basis’ weather internall or external.

At the moment I have my eye on the EOS 7d or EOS 60d. So putting aside issues like image quality, noise handling… what camera between the two (7D or 60D) would you recommend in terms of functions and features for the wedding field. I am a newbie so any advice, thoughts, views are really appreciated. Many thanks!

hi harry
    welcome to the forum
    The two body's are the same in so many ways but have a few things different the 7D as 19-point cross-type AF were the 60D only as 9 point cross-type AF all so the 7D as dual DIGIC 4 image processors were the 60D only as one making the 7D faster but were the other bodys like the 550D,600D & the 60D use SDXC, SD Card, SDHC memory cards the 7D uses CompactFlash which are more money to buy.
    All Four bodys are APS-C CMOS sensor so you what ever the lens says on it eg 70 - 200mm lens with the 1.6 x crop factor that lens becomes a 112 - 320mm lens
    as i have read on many web sites over the last few year's most use full frame sensor bodys not APS-C CMOS sensor

All so i'm sure most people on here that shoot weddings will tell you that reply to this thread its not just about the camera body's its having the right lens for the job you can have the best camera in the world but if its not got the right lens to do the job fitted to it your off to a losing start from the begin.
    There is more to shooting weddings then just pointing a camera at some one you only have one shot at it and if you mess up well id not like to be in that person's shoes.

hope this is some help
    all the best
    russ

Images