Default DSLR for a beginner - under 500

Hello,

I'm hoping to get some recommendations about what might be a good first DSLR . After putting up with a simple point & shoot for years, I can finally afford something decent, and would appreciate any advice/recommendations.

I am a beginner when it come to manual settings ...etc, but hoping to learn as I go along. I've enjoyed using my brother's Canon G9 over the last couple of years, and would like something compact like that in terms of size and function (I think!). Nothing to big, but which performs well.

Max budget: 500 - Any recommendations would be very much appreciated!

Hi and welcome

Have you read the article, Best Entry-level DSLRs 2010 on this site?

If not, it's worth going there first to get an idea of what you can get for your budget http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/equ...vel-dslrs.html

Happy reading

When you've made your choice, it's always worth getting down to your local camera store and actually handling them before you buy

Here's a Canon beginners tutorial that teaches you how to use the Aperture, Shutter speed, Exposure, Program, ISO, Depth of Field etc. (on any DSLR) to get the most out of your photography - enjoy! http://web.canon.jp/imaging/enjoydslr/index.html

Regards

Chris
    Last edited by Chris Cool; 06-02-11 at 06:30 PM.

Thanks very much for that. I'll check out both of those links.
    I'm excited now that I'm finally ready to buy something, but it is quite daunting not really knowing what to aim for. Hopefully those links will help, and if not will be back with even more questions!

Cheers

Okay

Pick out a few you think you would like, then read the reviews on here to find out more about them.

If you can't find a review on here, then just do a search on Google.

Come back and let us know how you got on.

Cheers

Chris

Thanks for the earlier links. I had a look at the entry level DSLRs, and also at the compacts as I think I prefer a more lightweight camera.