Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: buying DSLR

Default buying DSLR

Hi

I love photography but I am not a pro.
    I have been reading and searching to buy the right camera for last three months
    I cannot make my mind about make and model, ? full frame or cheaper options
    I read Canon EOS 550/60 and 7 then I found out about Nikon D7000 and D90, Now I am confused because I like to buy Nikon D700.
    If I have a starting budget of £2000 what would be the best camera and starting lense/set.
    please advice

Images

Hi yes it confusing all I can say is that you have enough money to get a good set up. Next what to buy has lot to do with what you want to shoot.. A d700 is very expensive just for a body. You may be better off looking at d7000 or canon 550d. Have you ever used a DSLR or is this your first if so what you upgrading from. All this will help give better advice

I agree - its hard to recommend a camera outfit without knowing what subjects you like to shoot, what your existing knowledge level is, whether you like big chunky tough cameras or small, light ones, what size prints you'll be making, whether you're interested in video etc etc.

The new generation of DSLRs such as Nikon's D7000 and Canon's EOS 7D are pretty hard to fault, and the Pentax K7 is good too. The new Sony A55 would be worth looking at for sports or if you're into video in a big way.

Personally with your budget, I would have a serious look at the Canon 5d MKII.

Hello Behzad,
    First of all you want to look at the lens system you will be buying into. I bought into Nikon some while ago because I wanted a particular lens and Canon didn't at that time have an equivalent.
    So now I am fixed to Nikon lenses,which is fine by me. If you can, go to a dealer to handle and try out some combo's. One time I bought a memory card, went to a dealer and took several shots on the same card with different camera's, I came home and looked at them on my pc.