PDA

View Full Version : Canon VS Panasonic Lumix - Which is better?

madlilgurl
08-02-13, 10:23 AM
Hi, I'm a student at college taking Art & Photography and I am currently looking for a new camera.

I was wondering which is the better camera between these two? 'Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP' OR 'Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens (Black)''

The camera I am looking for I want it to take very close and in good quality Macro images (close up) but I am unsure if it's the camera itself that needs to be a higher mega pixel or if it just needs a longer lens for Macro photos. I was also wondering if the 'Panasonic Lumix' was a good make as the only cameras I know of that are really good are Canon or Sony cameras.

I do like the fact that the 'Panasonic' has the flip out screen ability and it can record videos which I do often. Someone I know is selling the 'Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1' for 180 which is a really good price for how much the camera was originally but I'm not sure if it'll do what I want it to.

I hope you can help, many thanks! - Madlilgurl -

Here are the links to them for a photo -

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP Compact System Camera Kit: Amazon.co.uk: Camera & Photo

Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1MP

Amazon.com: Canon Digital Rebel XTi 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera (Black Body Only): Camera & Photo

P.S I'm also new to this forum/site so i'm sorry if I've out my question in the wrong place Thankyou

bobfa
08-02-13, 03:08 PM
Madlilgurl,

I would like to have you think about this in a different manner. Think about what you are using your cameras for today. Then think about what you are planning on doing. Get that down on paper so you have it someplace you can reference. You are creating a sort of road map for your self. Your mission is not technology but what you want to do with the technology!