PDA

View Full Version : Starter DSLR

Carper
21-09-11, 06:17 PM
Basically im going to start this thread with my situation. Im new to photography with DSLR's but have used a Fujifilm Finepix S7000 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fujifilm-FinePix-S7000-Digital-Camera/dp/B0000C6LQN) for my fishing photos and the car shows i went to this year (modified nationals and PVS) I felt the camera was ok but i was limited with what i could do. I often ended up with blurly pictures when indoors also. The camera is quite highly rated but its getting abit old now and i didnt pay for the camera anyway. Heres a picture i took with the camera.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j40/thebmxdude/DSCF1864.jpg

Now this is where it gets interesting. Im now after a DSLR. To start my brother has a canon 400D so i know what the cameras are about and have general information on them and have seen many of the pictures they can produce. After looking round i would love a canon 550D but its just abit too much for me at the minute with saving for mods for my car and paying out for other items insurance was 2100 :shock: but anyway after having a quick look around im not after going second hand and cant really save more than 500 so im really looking at the entry level cameras. Canon 1100D, Nikon D3100 ect. This is where you guys come in. Im after a camera that has a high enough resolution for things like my desktop wallpaper (1680x1050) and for working on photoshop with. Also just getting used to the features and generally enjoying taking photos and messing around with it. Im also not certain on weather to get a body or one with a lens. I know my brother changed his lens pretty much straight away and he doesnt use the stock lens much now. Having video recording in HD would be a bonus as i would use it but not all the time.

I think thats about it really if you guys need any more info then let me know and hopefully this thread can help others who are planning on getting on the bandwagon. Thanks

wave