PDA

View Full Version : Which to buy

mollysox
10-09-11, 07:01 PM
hello, my son has asked me to take some "action" photos of his football team. I am a reasonable photographer but would like some advice on the best camera for the job. Budget not great but open to advice on any and all cameras.
thanks for reading
regards
m

wave
11-09-11, 01:38 PM
Hi and welcome as you say your budget is limited would be possible to give us an idea. To get action shots you are going to need a camera with a long lens. what are your expectations. all theses things will help us to give better advice

canismajor
11-09-11, 03:13 PM
hello, my son has asked me to take some "action" photos of his football team. I am a reasonable photographer but would like some advice on the best camera for the job. Budget not great but open to advice on any and all cameras.
thanks for reading
regards
m
Hi, You will need a decent zoom for this task, to give you an idea I did a cricket match recently and found that my 120-400mm zoom was the right lens for the job. Many compact cameras have huge zooms on the lenses, and just to give you an idea, the FujifilmS2800HD (199 RRP) has a zoom of 28-504mm and has a 14mp sensor. Check out some of these compacts to see if they will be ok for you. All the best. Mike.

R0B
12-09-11, 05:25 PM
Your best bet is looking at bridge cameras if you're on a budget, go into jessops and have a play around with the cameras (Try find one that feels comfy in your hands, you wont regret this!) and I'm sure the staff will be willing to give you a hand :)

lydia1985
13-09-11, 08:24 AM
Leica M9 is really beyond my price, i like it so much and i will buy it after i think i can control it.

mollysox
14-09-11, 06:39 PM
Hello and thank you for the replies. I should have said that my present camera is an--
Olympus SP55OUZ 18X Optical zoom. My budget for the new one would be approx 250 (flexible)
Regards
mollysox

wave
15-09-11, 07:20 AM