PDA

View Full Version : Buying Advice

Fierybiscuits
05-09-11, 01:08 AM
Hello,

I hope someone could give me a little advice. I am a definitely a beginner when it comes to photography, with only several little compacts and a bit of a point and shoot habit to my name. I am happy with what this can offer me the majority of the time, something handy to slip in my bag and take on a nights out etc., but I am after something that will allow me to take a step up and get a little bit more involved in photography, learn a bit more and take some superior photos all at the same time. I am aware I could try and move into DSLR territory but am worried that this is too much of a step up for me and don't think my budget will stretch that far without some serious saving. Plus I am after something a bit more compact as I am not keen on the idea of lugging around a large camera and equipment, especially as I am an architecture student and would probably be carting it around trying to take arty photos of buildings, scenery etc.

I had been looking at some slightly higher end compact cameras, but came across the Compact System Camera and wondered whether this might be a better option. I have read they are a good choice for any amateurs looking to get a bit more into photography, as they bridge the gap between a compact and a DSLR, and the fact they have interchangeable lenses might make any eventual move into DSLR less painful. However, I am a little bit blinded by science with the various terms (MILC, EVIL????), and the differences between these types of camera.