PDA

View Full Version : F70EXR, TZ8 or just break the budget... X100!?

agentprovocateur
15-08-11, 05:41 PM
Hi

I've just joined this forum to see if I could get a bit of advice, I am currently looking at buying a cheap, quality, digital camera (pocket sized) for every day use. I am a graphic designer and in the past have had a Nikon D70 with various Sigma lenses (but it was stolen!) and this year have been using a friends D50, both producing great photos. Unfortunately I don't have the budget for a camera of this quality atm but would really like to find a budget version that takes great photos.

The be all and end all for me is getting a camera that takes the best quality shots for my money (colour fidelity, sharpness and exposure), if that means losing a few bells and whistles (ie. image stabilisation, face recognition, resolution, video etc) that's fine with me. The key areas I'm worried about are noise and lens distortion.

It is really going to be an everyday camera, from random shots down the pub to art shows and exhibitions. People, landscapes, portraits, architecture and art will all be photographed!

During my (one day research!) I've found two cameras that I'm interested in, they are the Fuji F70EXR and the Lumix TZ8. Both have had really good reviews by WDC and I have found them for quite reasonable prices (140 and 170 respectively).

The F70EXR with it's EXR technology sounds like what it lacks in resolution (10MP), zoom (x10) and video quality, it makes it up in the quality of the image. I seem to remember the review mentioning the cameras ability to switch between several modes that really helps with combating noise and that there was nearly no lens distortion?