PDA

View Full Version : Help!

bjrochy
23-11-10, 07:51 PM
Hi there just joined because i am looking for help! My wife has a wedding cake business and wants to take photos of her cakes and put them onto her website. she and i have NO idea about camers i want to get her one for xmass but dont know where to start, was thinking of spending £300 can go up or down depending on advise she is a total novice but picture quality must be high,maybe some effects ie colours to make the cakes look more interesting but a simple to use camera a must! please help. many thanks Brian

aidys1
24-11-10, 10:29 AM
Hi if they are to be placed on her business website you will need quality and the only way for that is going the DSLR route along with a quality tripod, shutter release cable, decent clean background sheets and possible some off camera lighting although the lighting I would class as optional. You will also need some decent editing software to make her cakes jump out at you on the website. You say the budget is in the £300’ish category to be honest a entry level DSLR will be around the £400 to £500 mark and a good quality tripod £100 to £200 mark along with the other accessories you are probably looking at spending £600 minimum but closer to £1000 and slightly more than that if you get some studio lighting to.
Also flickr would be a good place for ideas and to see what they have used in the taking of the image, did a quick search on wedding cakes for you and brought this lady up. (Follow link)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28607271@N02

Didn’t look for to long, leaving that for you to do. I hope this helps and good luck with the venture.
Happy snapping Aidy

bjrochy
24-11-10, 01:47 PM
Thanks think i will get camera and family member for tripod etc! Any ideas what make of camera to start with i have no idea and shops seem to bombard me with too much tecno info./???

Thanks again Brian

aidys1
24-11-10, 07:58 PM